Digital accessibility

How does OLIKA work with digital accessibility?

Digital accessibility means that all people, regardless of function, should be able to easily use digital services. Together with experts, we have reviewed the accessibility of our digital platforms in order for them to live up to the Accessibility Directive, which comes into effect in 2025 throughout the EU.

At OLIKA, we work primarily with three types of digital accessibility:

1. Contrast according to the Accessibility Directive
2. Alt texts
3. Image interpretation

What do levels AA and AAA mean in the Accessibility Directive?

It is a way of measuring the contrast, i.e. how easy it is to read what is written on a page or post. If the contrast is low, it may be difficult to see letters. In order for letters to be visible well, it needs to be at least level AA. On our site we work with both AA and AAA. In shorter headlines or short texts we work with level AA and in longer texts we work with the higher level AAA.
Both AA and AAA are approved according to the Accessibility Directive 2025.

How can I measure contrast and digital accessibility?

It is perfectly possible to measure yourself, including with Adobe's own tool where you simply key in codes for a certain background color and for a certain text color. This is how the contrast requirement looks like: AA: 4.5;1 for normal text and 3:1 for large text

AAA: 7:1 for regular text and 4.5:1 for large text.

How does OLIKA work with alt texts?

Every image on the website has an alt text, an alternative text. It is not visible, but if someone wants to know more about the image, the text can be used, it is like a description of what the image shows.

How does OLIKA work with image interpretation?

On our social media, we work with visual interpretation to make the posts accessible to people with impaired vision. When we visually interpret, we write a text about what the image shows in, for example, a post.